forum

[Archived] [QUESTION] Pen mode or Mouse mode (do not prioritise this thread)

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
-Yuno Gasai-
Ok I basically want to know where and why everyone is saying that pen mode is way better than mouse mode on tablets. Like is this just common sense or is it actually proven?

I've been playing for almost 6 years and my unstable rate has never been as low consistently (reaching 80 ish) on many jumps maps ranging from 4-6* with mouse mode. With pen mode no matter the settings I use I vary from (95+).

I use Wacom cth480 and there is a feature to remove mouse acceleration which basically makes the cursor move at a stable rate and I can also change the base speed.

This basically allowed me to use the entire tablet area without having a speed issue whatsoever thus leading me to be a lot more accurate when aiming. The changes have been so strong that on the first day of these changes (today) I was able to set my top #5 with 2 attempts.

So basically my experiences with mouse mode has been...productive. Ive easily destroyed scores with double or near double combo.

On the feel side...this is almost perfect. I've been changing settings and tablets/drivers for the past 2 years because no matter what I chose I always ended up with 1 of these 3 problems;

1 - Pen grip issue (due to how aiming was done and other variables I would end up losing my grip mid song)

2 - Poorly able to stream longer than 8 notes

3 - Poorly able to consistently hit burst jumps and screen jumps.

So basically no matter what settings I've been using in the past one of those issue would occur which was frustrating. But since I changed to mouse mode I've never felt a better flow of aim. I do not struggle to stream nor jumps except occasionally which could be due to the changes but it feels a lot more fun and stable than before.