forum

4K JHs and trills

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Luminox115
I've been playing mania for about 3 months. All the while using a membrane keyboard. I've started with 3.5-4* maps, but the streams trills and jackhammers are too fast. Is my skill just awful, or is my keyboard holding me back? Stairs and alternation is easy enough at that level, but my performance just drops when the trills and JHs starts.

If my keyboard is the issue, any recommendations?
If my skill is the problem, any maps I can play to improve?

Not sure how to post Replays.
Bobbias
keyboards have only a small impact. You might potentially improve a small bit from a better keyboard, but its still possible to play at the top level on a rubber dome kb.
NightNarumi
Unless your keyboard is sticky or broken, there won’t be a lot of instant improvement, should you switch over so you don’t need to worry about that

Just play maps featuring those patterns to practice on (srry don’t have any maps)
Chez
This might help if you decide to get a new keyboard. I am no expert and this is just my personal opinion. I'm probably wrong about something so feel free to correct me :^)

Changing keyboards can help even if it's a cheap rubber dome keyboard. The most important thing is how it FEELS. I recently went from a slim, flat HP keyboard to a regular sized one with indented keys and rounded spacebar and playing 7k with keyboard is SOOOOO much more comfortable. It's the spacebar and the size that did it for me. I do miss the laptop-like travel time of the thin keyboard but this is much more comfortable overall.