Ehh more or less
5.56%
Was this supposed to help anyone?
4.39%
Total votes: 1116
Topic Starter
Anxient
Guide to Beatmapping for Absolute Beginners

I made this because apparently not too many people know how to start with mapping (or even work their way around the editor)
Im not going to cover placing and that stuff coz if you dont know how to do that, then...

The map example in this Guide is t+pazolite (ft. Nanahira) - Otsukimi PARTY HARD

Table of Contents
>Metadata
>Difficulty Settings
>Finding the BPM and Offset
>Mapping the Actual Set
>Who to ask when you’re in a pinch!
>Where to go when in a pinch!
>Credits

ACT 1: Metadata

So! What is this thing? It’s basically a basic description of the song.
Ex) The title of the song, its artist, etc.

In osu!, it also holds information about the song’s source, tags and current map difficulty. Here is an example of the metadata screen:

You can edit this by clicking “Song Setup” on rightmost tab of osu!Editor, or by directly editing the .osu file, but that’s too complex and unnecessary unless you messed up completely!

Here, i will explain on what the more trivial boxes mean, coz I think its pretty obvious on what 'Artist' is right?

>Difficulty: This shows name of the difficulty you are currently mapping. In approval maps (songs with more than 5 minutes of drain time), the hardest difficulty of a mapset, or collaborations, you can name this whatever you want! In the hardest difficulty, however, you must relate the hardest difficulty name to something that relates to the song. Here, i used Kawaii Hardcore coz the genre of this song is J-Core, and Nanahira's voice is cute.

>Source: This shows on where the song came from. If this song doesn't appear from anywhere (doujin music) (anime (Naruto), games (Final Fantasy (number), etc), then it is fine to leave this blank.