Aesthetic HD Skin [osu! | mania] - Version 1.3.1

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Redon

Version 1.3.1
Last updated on June 11th, 2014

Aesthetic aims to combine a minimalist approach of few distractions
with a clean yet colorful and visually appealing design.

When I started playing osu! a few months ago and decided to look around for some skins, I was both surprised and disappointed that a vast majority of those advertised as simple or minimalist didn't meet my idea of such a skin at all. Even now, I can count the number of really clean skins I've seen on one hand. When I started working on this, I knew none.

My goal was to create a skin for myself and those who are interested in using it. A tight skin optimized for playing that still manages to look pretty. No shadows, reflections or other effects that make the circles look fancier, just a plain and flat theme.

I've been working on this skin off and on during the last few months, adding on and improving step by step. Right now, it's pretty much complete for osu! standard mode, although there are a few things here and there that may need tweaking. I plan to expand this skin for all modes in the future, but I'd like to take my time to familiarize myself with the gameplay and come up with some ideas first.

If you decide to give this skin a try, thanks! I hope you enjoy it.

All feedback is welcome, I'm happy to find new ways to improve this skin.

Additional Information
Hitcircles

The Aesthetic skin provides three different hitcircles that users can choose from, depending on preference.
All hitcircles are designed to blend in seamlessly with slider borders.

Hit bursts

The hit bursts adapt the new default colour scheme to a flat look. When playing for scores and optimal performance, I see 300 hits as an unnecessary distraction, so they are disabled by default. If you prefer to play with these hit bursts, they are still included in the Extra folder.

osu!mania

Mod icons