forum

Best mapping method?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
jabberwockey
I am relatively new to mapping, and I've just been wondering what the "right" or "best" way to map a song is, since I once told someone that I map by placing the hitobjects first and then spacing and arranging them (and changing them accordingly), and then they said that it ruins the map.I'd like to know so that I may improve on my mapping if there is a better method out there.
The_Epic_Backstabber
Way or technique? What you just talked about was a way: putting the beats first so you have the timing prepared for you. Technique is the actual mapping like stars and squares.

You can PM me whenever if you wanna talk about mapping.
Topic Starter
jabberwockey

The_Epic_Backstabber wrote:

Way or technique? What you just talked about was a way: putting the beats first so you have the timing prepared for you. Technique is the actual mapping like stars and squares.

You can PM me whenever if you wanna talk about mapping.
lmao you didn't understand
I am basically asking about portion by portion mapping vs. placing hitobjects( Note, not beats, I bet you were talking about timing or something) down first and then arranging it into a playable pattern
The_Epic_Backstabber
Isn't that what you said...?
narakucrimson
Hi!

Well the thing you're asking... Everyone does it differently. What I suggest you to do is try to map in different ways and see which one you like the most.

Some people like to place all the hitobjects before making the patterns, others (like me) map one at a time, because I like to create patterns on the process. It really depends on you, so find your own way :D
Topic Starter
jabberwockey

narakucrimson wrote:

Hi!

Well the thing you're asking... Everyone does it differently. What I suggest you to do is try to map in different ways and see which one you like the most.