forum

[Guide/Discussion] Beatmap Preparation

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Endaris
Maybe this can serve as a guide or something, mostly for first-time mappers. I'm hoping for some opinions and discussion. Mapping is science, huehue

Desperate-kun edits: The Guide is definitely not suited for first-time mappers. It is suited for mappers that have some experience with the editor, but have no ranked map yet.

I'm a newb in beatmapping but as I'm still stuck with getting perfect timing on my variable-bpm-map I already made a lot of thoughts about how I could make my beatmap good.
As this is only about preparation it should be understandable for anyone. Another good thing is that you don't need a computer to do these preparations, pen and paper are enough if you're familiar with the song and otherwise you can use a mp3-player and do some of these preparations when using public transport and during other periods of otherwise dead time(a clipboard can be helpful too).

First: Picking a song.
This is easy and hard at the same time. Choose a song that won't annoy you even if you have to hear it like 1000 times during the mapping process.

Second: Make a scheme and analyze the parts your song consists of.

Pretty much any song works with repitions of certain parts therefore it's helpful to know when which part is played and how often each part is played.
This information is valuable as it allows for the most general planning of your beatmap.
This includes planning breaks and relations between parts to get emphasis on the right spots. It might also help deciding where to cut your mp3 if you want a shorter version.

Examples how this might look for different songs(this is what I got after hearing through each song 2 or 3 times); please note that my "0" is when the music starts and please hear at least through the Queen-song as I'll use it multiple times as an example in later parts:
James Blunt - Goodbye My Lover
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ntKgLxgY9s

0-20s Intro