How do I make a beatmap

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
BusteRalph
how does one make a beatmap
Your Good Self
So first of all, welcome to osu!

The answers to a lot of your questions can probably be found in the wiki, though some pages may be a bit outdated due to the recent redesign.

Making a beatmap is known as "beatmapping", often shortened to just "mapping". To get started, follow the steps in the wiki link here: https://osu.ppy.sh/help/wiki/Beatmapping

Once you're set up, you should read up on a couple of guides that experienced mappers have helpfully compiled. One of the stickied threads on this forum (General Questions) is the Mapping/Modding: Guide Compendium. You probably want to start with the Guide to Beatmapping for Absolute Beginners, which covers the basics. It gets a whole lot messier from there.

Making a beatmap is simple. Making a playable beatmap is less simple. Making a decent beatmap is harder still, and only the best creations are ranked/approved and given a public scoreboard. That is the end goal of most mappers - to see their beatmap be ranked and to see others enjoy their masterpiece.

I think I'm rambling too much compared to your initial question so I'm going to end my response here. GLHF!
Topic Starter
BusteRalph
Oh ok. Thank you for your help.
Polnareff
check out pishifat's videos but since you are very very new to the game i suggest you first learn to play the game itself since you won't be able to emphatize other players when mapping and that can lead to unplayable or very clunky beatmaps
Ayayano

Polnareff wrote:

check out pishifat's videos but since you are very very new to the game i suggest you first learn to play the game itself since you won't be able to emphatize other players when mapping and that can lead to unplayable or very clunky beatmaps

Pishifat is great! Watch him!