forum

Making A Rhythm Game

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
ZiROXUS
So I've been playing osu for 2+ years now and it has inspired me to make a rhythm game from scratch. This question is for the experienced coders out there and I'd like to know their input.

I've browsed through many game making software out in public right now and I feel like making a rhythm game is almost impossible without knowing the software to detail. And even if you do know how to do so, there won't be much variety in song choices unless the maker is putting out songs like no other, also it being very time consuming I believe. (I had trouble describing this. Imagine a map on step mania or osu all done by one person. Mapping style would get really repetitive unless that creator is VERY creative)

This is where I'll need the coders' suggestions on making an "edit and play" software or client just like osu!edit. I plan of following osu's path and let the community take control of the majority of the mapping. I'll take any suggestion since I don't know where the **** to start lol, but I'll be exploring more ideas by experimenting and learning more of code languages in the meantime.

Only comments that will help me please, no negative comments. I understand this is not easy work and I'm willing to put a LARGE amount of time into my project.
guineaQ

ZiROXUS wrote:

I'll take any suggestion since I don't know where the **** to start lol
I don't know where to start telling you stuffs either then lol

About "edit and play", let me just say knowing how parsing works is essential to allow this kind of thing to work. Of course, there might be other methods for this but if you want user to make their own charts, the program must be able to read the data that the user passes to the program, so parsing is kinda essential.

Let me give you brief example/summary of the wikipedia article (it is full of technical terms after all and I have NO IDEA what your level of technical prowess is)