forum

PaRappa the Rapper thread

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Patcheresu
Start conversation on the one game that may responsible for Ouendan's very existence, as well as the button-based rhythm game genre. All you need to play is a PlayStation, a controller, and a little rhythm. And remember, you gotta believe.

This is also a good place to talk about PaRappa beatmaps, but no direct advertising. There are in few (about 5 on this site) and only one or two have been approved EVER. I'll start with an example of both.

I really like these games and the child-safe raps they have. The concepts are very well designed and the concert final stages are always a true test of skill. Sadly, because Sony of America are explosion-loving, money-grubbing bastards there will never be another PaRappa game. Did you know that he was Sony's mascot? Sony of Japan. It's true.

http://osu.ppy.sh/s/21701 This is my first attempt at beatmapping because I love this song and it is fun to perform in any rhythm game. If you've played the games you would have noticed that this song ties in with the best night of PaRappa's life. After spending all that time copying his teacher's techniques and lines, he is now improvising his own lines right on the spot. And he closes off the song all by himself, a first in the entire game. He did a line without anyone's help. He just became a bit more mature.