forum

Help with Audio Offset

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Takahiiro
Greetings, all! I'm fairly new to osu! and really enjoy osu!mania. I feel I've been scoring decently while having fun playing, but I've noticed my key presses are frequently off just a hair from what would sound natural with the beat or melody.

So, I'm attempting to correct this with the Audio Offset setting but having some trouble. Just to confirm: if I'm watching my replay and my inputs are to the right of the white bar at the bottom of the screen, it means I'm hitting early, correct? So, I would correct it with a negative offset, right?

Also, is there a consensus on what the best song to test against would be? I've been using one of the pre-installed songs (Rostik - Liquid) but I wanted to see if there were better options.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
Full Tablet
If your hits appear on the right of the white bar, it means you are hitting late (corrected with negative Universal Offset, or positive Local Offset).
Also, take into consideration that most of the wrong offset probably comes from you not hitting in time instead of something hardware related. If your hits sound accurate according to the song (but the game gives you low accuracy), and your unstable rate is low enough, then adjusting based in your input is appropriate. If you feel the hit-sounds sound off-timed, then you need to work on making them sound on time.

Since songs usually are only accurate in timing up to about 5ms in average if you base the offset on the hit-sounds timing (since the sound timing is only accurate in 10ms intervals for most people, because DirectSound support in Windows Vista or later has limited hardware support), it is not possible to have a perfect offset except in rare cases. This map https://osu.ppy.sh/s/4659 is usually used as a base to set the Universal Offset.
Topic Starter
Takahiiro