forum

A discussion thread on DKS and chudtapping

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
DM FOR MUTUAL
A quick note that I am not an expert nor do I fully understand everything that I am talking about here (I don't have a Wooting myself), so I may get some things wrong or miss out on important things. Please point out these corrections/ommisions if you notice them.

For anyone who is unaware, the former rank 3 player chud son (also known as Cloutiful/Epic Gaming) has recently been restricted for cheating.

The way he cheated was that he use a feature on the Wooting software called Dynamic Keystroke (DKS). Using this feature he was able to set the key he pressed with his non-dominant finger to actuate on an upstroke, where usually a Wooting key is set to actuate on a downstroke. With these settings, by tapping both keys at once, instead of the two inputs occurring at the same time, one would occur when he pressed down and the other when he lifts up. In this way he was able to play high-bpm streams with good accuracy by effectively just doubletapping, leading to many high pp plays including a 2000pp choke, and a number 3 spot on the leaderboards.

From what others can tell, he would toggle these settings only when he were to play a stream, playing the rest of the map fully legitimately. I'm guessing he would've toggled this setting on/off with a keyboard shortcut or the pedals seen below his desk in his liveplay.

The reason I am making this thread is that I believe that this blurs the line significantly between what is cheating and what isn't. Cloutiful did not utilise any unnecessary software in order to cheat, nor did he set a macro or multiple actions to one keystroke. He simply used a setting which came packaged with the keyboard he had, a keyboard which many players have, including many top players, as well as a technique that is considered fair game if you ignore the keyboard settings (doubletapping itself isn't considered cheating).