forum

Developing Dan in osu!std

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
VIRUS666_YT
Hello friends! I hope you all know what Dan Reform is (relevant in o!mania and o!ctb). For those who don't know, "dans" - meaning steps, are basically measurements of how good you are by measuring your average on 4 maps. In o!mania, it goes in the following order: Jack, Tech, Speed, Stamina, and to clear the maps, you need to score 96%.

So, I want to take on this task and over the course of six months create Dan Reform 1-10th (α, β, γ, δ, ε), with the following gameplay order: Jump, Stream, Tech, Speed Stamina. The rules for playing these dans will be developed later. For now, assumptions include playing in SV2 and needing a 95% clear. It's possible that playing tech maps with SV2 might be inconvenient, so everything will be adjusted later.

Since I'm not very experienced in the game mode myself, I would like your help in building a list of maps for each dan level. I would be very grateful, and I hope to create a good Dan Reform in osu!std. (For now, the list includes maps like "The Empress," "Volcanic," "Future Dominators.")
Wimpy Cursed
I was actually thinking about this a few days ago.
Though, I don't have the mapping experience nor knowledge about technicity on higher levels
McEndu
Name it something other than Reform. Only the word Dan is important. Think Reform as a trademark.

If possible maybe also use osu!lazer playlists.

Where should we put the 1st dan line at, and should we make Kyu courses?

For reference, beatmania IIDX goes from 7th kyu for the very beginners, up to 1th kyu for people knowing the basics, then 1st dan to 10th dan, then the two 伝s for the highest level players.
DM FOR MUTUAL
Btw there was a similar thing that died called the osu!dan project

https://discord.com/invite/uZRdPEcZ8B