forum

How do i improve at mapping?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Shiina Taki
I've been mapping for two years (took a one year break cause my pc died) and I've never felt as stagnant and lost as I feel right now, I feel like whenever I try to map something nothing goes the way I want, the map is horrible, I can't keep a consistent style, song gets me sick, rhythm is bad, and so on.

It's really tiring to start maps almost every single day and not being able to get even 15 seconds in without hating it.

please help me how do I actually improve at mapping?
(keep mapping doesn't help since I can't even map)
I AM VERY SMART
by mapping more i guess? i don't know if the "play more" advice is applied on mapping as well but if you map different styles and manage to find the ones that are good for you, then it may be a sign that you're improving i guess
Jason X
The best approach (in my opinion) is to get back to the game first, like spend a couple months (2 at least) just playing.
After all, ya didn't start mapping outright when yyou first joined, right?

Anaxii wrote:

i don't know if the "play more" advice is applied on mapping as well
The "play more" approach also works here, yes. Mapping is a learn by doing process, this applies when one first starts mapping, and when one comes back after a break.
Unlike when you first started you know the basics, and you got certain expectations, it's just that you need to get used to it again.

My tip on the 15 second map, keep mapping.
I took a 3 year break from osu, so I know very well what you mean by hating it (had the same issue), I eventually got rid of it after just pushing through with it a few times (took me like 4 maps?)
lewski
First, watch this video:

If Dr. K's explanation of external concern perfectionism resonates with you, follow his advice.

If you think your issue is more about your personal standards, you'll need to find a way to shift those standards.