forum

Ranking maps.

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Whats Skill
Why does it feel almost impossible to rank a map, especially in a mode like Taiko, even when you put in lots of time to get a ton of mods on your maps?

I've been mapping since 2018 but took a break during 2020 and recently came back. One thing I have noticed that has stayed consistent between ranking a map before 2020 and after 2022 is that it is still really hard to get anything ranked. Like I stated in my question, I have gotten quite a few mods on two different maps that I first created back in 2018, but I can't seem to get BN's for either. Not being able to get BN's to look at (and hopefully nominate) either of my maps is not without lack of trying either. I have posted on quite a few BN's queues and have even joined the Taiko mapping discord, but still have yet to have a BN even acknowledge my maps. And before you ask, yes I do pay attention to what the BN's do and do not like and request accordingly.

I have also noticed that there are quite a few BNs that are pretty much always closed, which does not help in the slightest. Also, I recently got a reason for rejection on one of my maps, and all they said was "kdkdkdkd". I'm not sure what I can do to fix that since its the only way I can map anything that corresponds to the music.

I know the point of mapping is not necessarily to get something ranked, and more about having fun creating maps, but holy crap is it demotivating when BN's just ignore you or brush you off with a vague rejection message. I really just want to rank 1-2 maps to "complete" osu!(its really more of a goal to get 1-2 maps ranked)
lewski
idk anything about taiko but when std mappers make posts that are exactly like this they're never all that great at mapping so sorry but good luck with the grind

Whats Skill wrote:

get a ton of mods