forum

Some keyboard questions

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
notasnev
I've been playing 4k for about 2 months so far and it's been pretty fun. Throughout almost all of my playing sessions I relied on my laptop keyboard because that's simply what I have. Lately, I've been thinking about getting a new keyboard. No, not a mechanical keyboard with high polling rate and NKRO or anything, I don't think I have to worry about those until I get into really high level play. Plus, I don't have a lot of money. I'm thinking about a keyboard like the Logitech K120 since it's inexpensive, available for purchase everywhere, and I've heard some good things about it. (Like here: https://youtu.be/rcQlR4K7umo). But... do I really need it? As in, would you do just fine on a laptop keyboard for a good while? Are there players who can do some pretty wild stuff using only their laptop keys?

To me, playing on them feels alright, but I feel a lot more comfortable with a separate keyboard for playing more accurately since you can hit on them pretty hard without having to worry wearing down your keys, and you get more feedback on each keytap since their switches are full-sized compared to the compact chiclet keys you'd find on a laptop, even with membrane. I don't play with hitsounds on o!m so the more apparent keytap sounds that you'd get is well-appreciated. What do you all think? Do you have any notable experiences while trying out different keyboards? Or perhaps with the Logitech in particular? (Especially in keymodes beyond 4k.) Really, I guess the only downside of getting a keyboard like the Logitech K120 is, since it's a generic USB input device, it's only limited to 6-key rollover, which itself it's fine for 4k, but might not be if I'm looking to play 7k in the future.

Oh and, quick shout out to my friend for letting me borrow his keyboards, they're nice but they're not exactly something that I can afford to buy myself.
UltraBlack