forum

How do i know i can use a song for mapping

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
svd002
I am pretty new to osu! and wanted to try mapping so how do i know i can use a song for mapping? For example if someone else mapped the song already can I use the song? or can i use another song from a artist that has other songs that has been ranked already? thanks for the help.
WitherMite
there arent any rules against mapping songs that are already mapped. just look up harumachi clover. trying to rank it might be a bit of a challenge if your map isnt much different from a ranked version, but you shouldnt worry about ranking your maps for a while. just map whatever songs you want

beatmapsets?q=harumachi&s=any
Quozmox

svd002 wrote:

I am pretty new to osu! and wanted to try mapping so how do i know i can use a song for mapping? For example if someone else mapped the song already can I use the song? or can i use another song from a artist that has other songs that has been ranked already? thanks for the help.
As mentioned above, it doesn't really matter what song you try mapping to since there are a ton of ranked versions of the same map sometimes. Sometimes I even steal the .mp3 audio from the song folder of an already made map to use it in my own if I can't find that .mp3 online. Getting a song ranked is pretty hard, you'll most likely need 6+ months of experience to get even a single song ranked. I've been mapping for 6 months and I'm still quite far from becoming a great mapper. It's just a matter of mapping more.
TJ Hess
i want to give my two cents about this;
the easiest way to know if you can use a song for mapping is either asking the artist themselves or, if you don't want to bother with that, picking from one of osu!'s featured artist, which have free to use songs..