forum

How to make good osu!mania gameplay

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
TheKnightRhythm
Hello guys. I'm a beginner mapper. Recently I published my first ever osu!mania beatmap! And I'm wondering, how to make good osu!mania gameplay. Can you guys give me advice of how to improve my map and make good gameplay? Also, to help me even further, please play my map and tell me what I could improve. Thank you!

Some questions that I have about mapping are, but not limited to:
How to make good patterns?
What kinds of patterns are considered awkward?
Is there anything to avoid doing?
How to handle polyrhythms? Specially 4:3, which is present in the Expert difficulty of my map.
How much detail of a song can I map? When is it considered too much?
How to make easier difficulties without making the map too boring?
How to make harder difficulties without making them unfair or frustrating?
abraker

TheKnightRhythm wrote:

How to make good patterns?
This is subjective because what one player might consider good patterns, another may not. Ultimately you should form an opinion of what's good and not just by playing a bunch of maps.

TheKnightRhythm wrote:

What kinds of patterns are considered awkward?
I'd rather give you a map that is the definition of awkward and you study it from there. beatmapsets/386097#mania/843126

TheKnightRhythm wrote:

Is there anything to avoid doing?
PP inflating patterns like jumptrills (a bunch of [12][23][12][23]), or other fill column repeating variants.

TheKnightRhythm wrote:

How to handle polyrhythms? Specially 4:3, which is present in the Expert difficulty of my map.
What do you mean by handle? I'd just map whatever interpretation of the sound I hear fits best.

TheKnightRhythm wrote:

How much detail of a song can I map? When is it considered too much?
See my Teo set: beatmapsets/1328445#mania/2751876