forum

Use too little dash

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
HecaRegina
Hello!

I started playing Platter often since last week.

I realise that most of the time, I tend to travel less than the required distance to reach the next fruit.

Most of this stem from me being conservative about my dash. Like I know I have to use dash to catch that fruit, but I am afraid to use it no matter how far it is. My saving grace is the hyperdash fruit since it guarantees that I have to use dash.

I read the tutorials and guides and they all tell me that I should learn how to learn when NOT to use the dash. Meaning players must have used a lot of dashes in Salad before reaching Platter. So I am the opposite. How can I be ENCOURAGED to use dash?

I'm sure I played more than someone who only reaches salad on average, so telling me just to play more is a bit redundant, though I know I need more plays to use the methods that anyone might tell me.
Nikolai
play more
Topic Starter
HecaRegina

Nikolai wrote:

play more
I hope you joking. Clearly you never read what I wrote about that advice.
mulraf
well, you still are pretty new. so play more definitely is an advice i would give.
other than that i know that platter is a bit of a hard barrier to breach.
i can only tell you what helped me:

1. not playing (too many) converts. but looking at your profile this is already what you do. actually i never play any converts, but many many good players say "play converts" or even the other extreme, they don't play specifics. i think it's a choice of your own, but reading my last words in step 2 will probably explain why i chose to almost exclusively play specifics personally.

2. finding maps where i can see the rhythm. for me it was mostly calm songs like
beatmapsets/381125#fruits/833902
https://osu.ppy.sh/beatmapsets/477718#fruits/1026087 (my former favorite map)
beatmapsets/435287#fruits/937655
edit: replaying those they do feel a little old. maybe you need to look for current good ones yourself.