forum

Alternating index & ring fingers vs. index & middle fingers

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
pantsbroke
I've been playing this game for a few years casually but recently decided that I wanted to improve and actually "get good" at the game.

A problem I recently ran into is that I was absolute shit at streaming. I watched a couple of youtube videos on it and tested out using the "w" and "e" keys to stream (with index and middle), which was basically the same as before. Just out of curiosity, I tried alternating with index and ring finger, using "q" and "e" instead. Oddly, I was much more consistent with them and was able to hold streams longer.

Is it better to alternate index and ring? Or is this probably a player-specific type change? I'm pretty sure it's the latter but I just wanted to hear what other people thought of this.

Update after nearly a year of using ring+index: working pretty well and now my primary tapping finger is ring finger. Accuracy and finger control got much better and starting to be able to stream 200+ bpm. Like someone below said, it's personal preference though.
-Polyrem-
I full alternate using index and ring finger, it gives more stamina and better triplet control. You can watch my replays.
clodi
It is personal preference really.

The majority of players typically would use their index and middle finger when alternating since it is the most natural for most people. However, I know a handful of players who alternates using their index and ring finger and they perform just as well.

There are no clear advantages or disadvantages between the two different styles of alternating. What it ultimately comes down to is rather or not one style feels more natural for you personally than the other style.
Esutarosa
I think you should cheerid as you prefer. In any case, in order to become stronger, you need to play on the edge of your abilities.