forum

How big is the difference between 60 and 120hz?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
RinnRinn
I've been playing for about 6 months at this point. Just the other day I was going through the settings, and found that my laptop's screen could go from 60 to 120hz and I had been playing at 60hz this whole time. Yet all of a sudden I feel like playing Osu is waaay harder. I don't know if I'm just bad, or if there's a big gap between playing at 60 and 120hz and I just don't know it. Can it actually mess up your skills if you go from 60 to 120 hz?
shmowzoww
Night and day.
Legendary
The difference is crazy, def recommend a 120hz or 144hz monitor.
abraker
I got a 165Hz monitor. Things sure a lot smoother.
Flanster
around 60
TheKingHenry

Flanster wrote:

around 60

fuck beat me to it lol
Nuuskamuikkunen
Even from 60 to 72 there's a noticeable difference
TicClick
AndreTsoi
I have a 144hz monitor and even though I am by no means a good player - but I can tell you that it's a big difference. You will never be able to go back to 60hz, that said - you don't need it.
-Abby-
It's very comfortable. And mathematically speaking, it's a good advantage.
144hz = 7 millisecond of refresh rate
60hz = 16 millisecond of refresh rate
There are 9ms of difference. In OD 8 songs you have (+/-)31.5ms (= 63ms) to hit a 300 circle.
That means 14% (9ms are approximately 14% of 63ms) more time available to see an approach circle moving* and hit a 300...
In greater OD's it increases (OD11=34%).

*=disappearing if you are playing hidden

The cursor becomes smoother too.
Mynarcoia
100% difference, seriously you can never go back to 60hz after you play on 120/144/240hz
Nikolai

Markymark198 wrote:

100% difference, seriously you can never go back to 60hz after you play on 120/144/240hz

yes you can, stop lying to yourself
MusicRitman
Smooth play I think. Cuz it's more image updates.
Hellnickell