forum

Simple tutorial to make your own art.

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
will never fc
Just wanted to make this simple guide for people who has Photoshop and would want to make their own picture.

First off, you have to have Photoshop. There are other editing software (online or offline) which you could also use, but imo PS gives off the most amount of flexibility. I use CS5.1 because that was installed on my laptop for my modules that I'm studying.

Depending on what you want to create, pick a canvas size, Avatars can be the standard 128x128, Banners and signatures can be something like 622x192(B) / 640x150(S). Make sure that this is in pixels or you're going to have the wrong size.

After you have your canvas size, look for a background (if you want), make sure it fits your canvas size or bigger. You can choose a smaller size, and free transform it to fit, but it sacrifices quality. Save that image into your computer, and open that image. Drag that image to your canvas, and adjust accordingly.

For characters, find one with good quality and that it does not have too many edges. Careful, because if you choose one with lots of outline, it's going to be hard cropping it. So, find a character you like, and save that picture.

Open that picture, and duplicate that. Click on the duplicated copy and select 'magnetic lasso tool'. What this does is trace the outline of the object, you can click on it to ensure it goes the right way, sometimes lines close together will not be properly done by the system. After tracing the image, your object should have this moving outline surrounding it, click your move tool, don't remain in your lasso tool as if you click anywhere you have to trace the object again. Drag to your canvas.

At this point, you have your background and character/ object. Use your marquee tool and free transform to the desired shape/ size and direction that you want.