forum

osu!arcade at Wai-con 2010

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
peppy
With Perth being a relatively small city (most of you have probably not even heard of it, but it is in the western part of the country :P), it is quite overwhelming to attend the yearly run Wai-con event, which gathered together over 3,400 people this year. Held at the recently constructed Perth Convention Centre, attendees can enjoy a weekend of anime screenings, cosplay competitions and photo-shoots, panels and workshops, video/card game tournaments and this year a very special performance by the Eminence orchestral unit.

I have been volunteering at the convention for the last two years and decided last year that I would really like to see osu! have a presence, both to make the game better known locally and to get some sort of real-life social interactions based around the game. So this year I set out to make this possible, completing the first prototype of osu!arcade - a fully self-contained arcade cabinet version of osu!. With custom-made hardware and an arcade-specific branch of the osu! codebase, the system was looking very ready for its debut last weekend (after some very rushed last minute preparations :P).

Arriving on the night before the convention started, many of the other people helping with setup were already enjoying the machine. It was decided we definitely needed some kind of hygiene control on the touchscreen, and this was a good call after seeing exactly how black a single wipe would leave a cloth! I also got some quick feedback on the interface (mainly song select) and generally what was confusing to the end-user when first trying to play the game, which allowed me to dash home and make some overnight changes before the event.