forum

New around these parts!

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Laurix_old
Hey, everyone!

I just started playing osu about a week ago after seeing some popular League of Legends streamers playing it. I used to be a big DDR/Stepmania/FFR fan, but it's been years since I played any of those.

I feel I picked up the game rather quick. Just been downloading random beatmaps, and beating them on hard (which tbh some seem too easy) and practicing some "insane" ones, namely Psy - Gentleman (Sonnyc) lately, lol.

I've read many threads about the whole mouse vs tablet debate. For the most part, I feel I can do without a tablet. Someone used the analogy (it's more a preference than a necessity, like a fightstick for fighting games); which I feel is true.

Anyways.. I kept reading and watching videos, and I've seen both mouse AND tablet users using keys on the keyboard (assuming z/x) for clicks. Is it bad I've just been using pure mouse and right-clicking this whole time? >.> I personally find it much easier, but in the long run idk if it'll be feasible to continue this way.

Thanks!

EDIT: Oh, and I keep hitting my download limit for songs rather quick.. Should I be downloading them in "Beatmat Packs"? Are the songs in those packs pretty good?
Zalaria
To answer your question about z/x vs mouseclicks, it's based on preference. I myself cannot for the life of me click with a mouse >.< Though being a pure mouse-user can be quite difficult.

I also played DDR back in the day (who needs a dancemat when you have a controller XD) I picked up pretty fast too, but I found my footing at the normal diffs when I first started. As time went by I slowly went to the harder diffs and am now trying the insanes. Some of which are surprisingly easy. Well anywho, welcome to osu! ^^ *adds to friends*
Lust