forum

Is my timing good in this map?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Pukawka
Hi there. I just wanted to ask, namely, is my timing good in this map? It is my first attempt to make any part of mapping in osu!, so in advance, sorry for my stupidness.

I am taking baby steps, without any YouTube tutorials about it. I just wanted to ask if my approach is the right way to do the map. There I had to create a two single 'BPM checkpoints', because it's like 1-2 and 1-2 after some space, but the BPM is the same. Maybe I did it wrong, so feel free to correct me. I want to learn, I do not want someone to make my map for me.

I think the offset is great, I've figured it out in Adobe Audtion basing on the timeline. Not sure about the BPM. Cheers!

Don't worry about the patterns, I am just learning the timing right now.

beatmapsets/1295359#osu/2687761
TheKingHenry
okay for starters, the offset is not exactly accurate either, something like -50ms from the current seems a bit better

But that aside, you are timing the 3/2 pattern in the music as 1/1, and this is why your bpm is wrong, leading to this double red line you have there in the beginning. So essentially, the pattern in the music is two sounds each lasting 3 * 1/2, followed by one 1/1 (so 2 * 1/2) long sound, for 1.5 + 1.5 + 1 = 4 beats respectively (one measure in the 4/4).

So with that in mind multiply your bpm with 1.5 to get your timing from that 3/2 to the actual 1/1 beat. With the offset change in mind, quickie check on my end resulted in something around 150bpm seeming relatively close to truth, at least as long as I listened to (didn't go all the way through).

So as a tip to avoid this kind of bpm mismatch, rather than listening where the next sound is located (like you did here), try to listen to the entire phrase, which is typically something like measure or two, and then divide that segment into beats, and you won't be misguided by rhythmic pattern like these

Hopefully this was helpful

Pukawka wrote: