forum

Taiko gameplay mods. And should they be changed?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Public-Sama

The Issue

I have had an issue with the taiko gameplay mods ever since I started playing. Now, most of the time when i was a low level taiko player, I just chalked it down to me sucking at the game. But now I have improved to a moderately good level and yet I still find myself struggling to play with the mods. This is the basic issue and I have wondered what other people's opinions on this topic are.
PLEASE READ ALL BEFORE POSTING
Each mod addressed individually:
Hard Rock
I belive Hard Rock is THE most balanced mod out of all of the taiko gameplay mods. There isn't much to say as I personally find it reasonably playable and occasionally fun to play.

Double Time
Obviously again, Double Time is also a fairly balanced mod. But the problem that I and I hope others seem to find is that the OD rise is fairly high for taiko making it so many players must add Easy mod to get decent Double Time plays on higher * and sometimes lower * maps. An easy tweak is to just lower the OD buff and then I think the mod will become a whole lot more playable.

Hidden
Ever since the patch where the black bar was added for players who play with different resolutions. I think Hidden has become THE worst mod. I find the mod readable to an extent until it comes to higher * maps and tech maps with which it then becomes barely readable. I think an easy way to fix this mod is to make the notes disappear further down the track or alternatively make the fade out slower. It is especially noticeable when adding Hard Rock with Hidden, it seems then to become a memory and precision challenge which I and I hope others do not find fun.

Flashlight