forum

Cannot progress any further in osu!mania

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Humb0ldt
Since I started playing mania in June, I seem to have progressed considerably far. My rank has slowly but steadily been increasing as I played through each difficulty up until around December when I could comfortably play 4 star maps.
I have got to a point where I have got an S on almost all the 4 star beatmaps apart from a few where I have achieved an A, and no matter how much I practice, I simply cannot improve those grades.
5 star beatmaps are basically impossible for me without using a half time mod - I'm pretty sure my fingers are incapable of tapping the keys at such speeds.
It's very frustrating watching my rank slowly decrease day by day, watching all the effort I put in deteriorate while I watch, unable to do anything to prevent it.

If anyone has been in this situation before, please tell me what you did to improve. I have been attempting to improve for two months now with no luck.
Tripletth
4k above 5* is bs anyway. Try other keymodes instead or just play taiko like a real man
Yyorshire
You've probably reached the point where osu!mania can barely help you progress due to the limitations of the game. I would recommend switching to Etterna, a game that can help you progress much faster as it gives you the tools to do so, mainly rates. It will also expose you to patterns you won't see very often in osu!mania. After you've had some time in this game you should see some notable improvements, I can say this is true from my personal experience. You can always come back to osu! at anytime, so at least give this game a try if you want to improve faster.

Some things to note about Etterna:
The user interface is garbage, it takes a lot of time to get used to. Nothing is explained well except on a webpage I've forgotten about.
It is currently an unfinished game, but is relatively stable and you shouldn't run into too many issues with it.