forum

My Personal Guide to play Flashlight

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Lancien
To Note
This is my first time making a guide so please bear with me. I know Vararaup has made a Flashlight Guide already but I wanted to make one myself. I'm not as popular as Vararaup nor am I as an amazing Flashlight player as he is but I want to give players my insight of it.
Introduction
The purpose of this guide is to help any player that is interested in playing Flashlight.
First off, flashlight isn’t just memory. If you think otherwise, I hope I could change your mind.

Before you even start playing Flashlight, I will say that most people are not going to pick up Flashlight skill instantly. (I will talk about what that skill is below.) It takes a lot of practice, time, and dedication to build up skill. As a player that has played Flashlight for about a year now, I believe starting off with flashlight is the hardest step. Something as “simple” as an Easy or Normal diff will become harder to learn.

Keep in mind star rating can be irrelevant at times. For example, a high star 30 second jump map tends to be much easier than a Normal or Hard difficulty.
What is Flashlight?
Flashlight is a mod that restricts your play view of a map. That’s it.
At 100x combo, the play view is 1/2 of what it was at 0x combo.
At 200x combo, the play view is 1/4 of what it was at 0x combo.

Keep in mind:
The area of vision does not gradually get smaller to 100x or 200x.
The area of vision does not get smaller after 200x.
The area of vision gets dimmed after holding onto a slider.
Skills
Players who don't play the mod at all or regularly will get the common misconception that Flashlight only requires memory. There are some assets needed for FL.