forum

B1rd's Study Blog

posted
Total Posts
show more
Taj
You shouldn't have HD.
gaming epic
Damn i have respect for you. Best of luck B1rd. (y)
Topic Starter
B1rd

UltraHenzie wrote:

You shouldn't have HD.
What's HD
johnmedina999

B1rd wrote:

which looks very promising in that it seems it will teach me all of the fundamentals of grammar, rather than just teaching me the Japanese equivalent of English phrases,
This is what you want, nice job finding this.
Taj
Hard distance, the equivalence of wonky aim.
Aim is usually the most important balance in skill, although skill is not important.
Yuudachi-kun

B1rd wrote:

Status Report:

Everything complete. I've been studying the book I got that has about 2300 of the most common kanji, I'm studying 8 a day so I should have it done in less than a year. 44 done so far. Obviously I don't memorise all of the readings and vocabulary of every kanji as memorising something without context would be inefficient and would take far too long, so as the book suggests I just memorise the generalised meanings and one or two of the readings. Learning the kanji systematically should give me a headstart in actually being able to read Japanese text, which will have huge practical benefits in that I'll be able to practice Japanese just by reading stuff off the internet.
I've also started on the A Guide to Japanese Grammar by Tae Kim, which looks very promising in that it seems it will teach me all of the fundamentals of grammar, rather than just teaching me the Japanese equivalent of English phrases, which textbooks seem mainly to do. Though I still think textbooks will be useful for practice and learning practical words and phrases.