posted
Total Posts
show more
Andrea

Sakura wrote:

They are delicious tho
I agree with this.
D33d
RJ, you ought to remove the entry on arcs, because it has the potential to confuse new mappers about the right way to make the things.
Xyrene
Guys, so I'm new to mapping and I seriously can NOT get slider symmetry in. It always seems to me that eventhough the starting point and end point are symmetrical about the Y-axis, the slider ITSELF doesn't seem to be quite symmetrical.

I.E. head of slider is slightly lower than tail of slider, like so:

How does one get about perfect slider symmetry? Also, a few tips on basic slider and map design please!
D33d

HotogiShirayuki wrote:

Guys, so I'm new to mapping and I seriously can NOT get slider symmetry in. It always seems to me that eventhough the starting point and end point are symmetrical about the Y-axis, the slider ITSELF doesn't seem to be quite symmetrical.

How does one get about perfect slider symmetry? Also, a few tips on basic slider and map design please!
p/1891278

Basically, hold shift and drag the midpoint down until the end snaps properly. That, or move the midpoint down and sideways, until the end snaps. You can also make the grid smaller if you need to.

For general map design, string together simple patterns and make them look and feel steady. It's better to have simple, functional patterns which build into more complicated things, than a convoluted mess of patterns which either don't fit together or are all so flashy that nothing really stands out.

For sliders, you can make loads and loads of nice patterns out of arcs alone, so I'd use them more often. Use linear sliders if you want, but using too many becomes boring. Things like waves and slider art tend to be less necessary, but small waves can help the flow of things if you have the patience to make them properly.
Xyrene

D33d wrote:

HotogiShirayuki wrote:

p/1891278