forum

What does the community really like?

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
EtheralAzure
When surfing the beatmap section I see some pending/WIP/graveyard maps with extremely high hypes/plays/likes. I once thought it was just because mappers are too lazy to push them forward, but when I take a good look they just turn out to be less fancy-made than I'd expected. So how do they get popular?

Some sets are featuring really famous songs so I assume people click like for the song more than the beatmap, but some don't fall into this category and I'm getting really confused. So what does the community really like?

Sometimes mappers just pile up difficulty, not regarding any flow/playability/aesthetics, still getting tons of attention. I've been mapping for 2 years. I can't figure out any reason to praise some of the popular sets, and sure enough, they're denied by bns continuously if attempted (Most of the time they don't basically piss of anyone, just poorly made). So do people like sr? 10* random jumps, random lined cut streams, or random sliders?

I'm probably biased and apologize for that, but I'm really curious about how that happened.

I'm not indicating any specific beatmap, feeling sorry if you deem I am.
Zelzatter Zero
If what you care was just pandering to what people like best, you won't getting anywhere. Even some maps nowadays barely has like 15-20 favs, or even none before going to ranked.

The reason why those maps got into graveyard has already been said by you yourself, but you also have to aware that it does means that the popularity gain was just mostly luck. Take one of my maps as an example, I mapped it was purely because of my interest in the song, and left it to graveyard because it seems like I can't push it further and eventually abandoned it, completely forgot that fact that it's 20 favs already.