forum

Skill gap between jumps and streams

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Pablurp
So basically I started playing osu! a few years back and never downloaded any maps because I was too lazy. After some time I picked up the game again and decided to download some of the openings I liked that would show up in the beatmaps homepage, and I played only those that I could easily pass (the aim heavy jump maps) because I have an fps background and didn't really like the streams. After that, I would just download packs of thousands of maps and play the jump maps for fun, and soon enough I'd get kind of stuck since a lot of them were starting to incorporate bursts and streams in the middle of the songs and I would have trouble fcing those maps, so I had decided to start taking learning streams seriously. Now, I can pass some of the 7 star jump maps but streams-centered stamina maps with 5-6 stars are quite difficult for me to clear, and I'm just wondering if this happens to a lot of people and what's the best way to slowly get the gist for streaming.
PS: Might have to add that I used to play with only mouse (no keyboard) up to like mid 5 stars so that's why I avoided streaming heavily as streaming while aiming made my forearm tense up a lot and it would end up hurting.
monkeyboy56
It's called being a jump on trick and it's extremely common. The best solutions are outlined here

https://youtu.be/vhpkAiPOTq8
rematyar
play more low star burst/stream maps
MrSparklepants
"Might have to add that I used to play with only mouse (no keyboard) up to like mid 5 stars so that's why I avoided streaming heavily as streaming while aiming made my forearm tense up a lot and it would end up hurting."