forum

First Map Updated

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Batticus
Hi All,

A couple weeks ago I updated my map to include a Hard difficulty. I'm new to all this mapping stuff, and don't quite know what I'm doing. The original thread is locked, don't know if that's just how it goes, or if I took too long.

With regards to mods. I know a lot of them don't do first maps, but I posted it in 2 mod posts. Is one supposed to find as many mods as possible? I have no idea.

Anyway, I thought I'd post it here again (there's an old post that I edited somewhere here, sorry) to see if I can get some feedback. Mostly on the Hard diff. It is a first map, but I'm somewhat glad with how it turned out.

beatmapsets/1393654#osu/2966301

Snap! Just saw the "Please edit your last post..." alert now. Did I fuck up?!
lewski

Batticus wrote:

Is one supposed to find as many mods as possible?
Nope. A far better way to improve is to get a bit of general feedback and apply that in your next map, and honestly, when you're just starting out, you don't even need feedback. You'll improve a lot just by getting used to the editor and trying to make something that resembles the stuff you see while playing the game.

Finding and applying a lot of mods just gets you stuck on one map, especially since most people aren't exactly stellar at modding; they're unlikely to tell you anything very substantial. Worst case scenario, you'll get misleading or even straight up bad advice that does more harm than good in the long run.

I'd suggest just mapping different songs and figuring things out on your own for a while. Play your maps and try to figure out how you could make them more enjoyable for yourself to play, but don't let yourself get stuck on one map for too long. Moving on is more productive.

Batticus wrote:

Snap! Just saw the "Please edit your last post..." alert now. Did I fuck up?!