Topic Starter
MarshNello

Oceana wrote:

Is compatibility mode mandatory? I heard it has an impact on frames
Not really as of right now, it shouldn't bother performance at all
krunchie
thanks very much i can now satisfy my winter seasonal osu! craving
leny
I'm having trouble running osu! after installing the wine-osu 6.14 package (it launched successfully before)

ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/$LIB/libgamemodeauto.so.0' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (cannot open shared object file): ignored.
wine: could not load ntdll.so: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.32' not found (required by /home/leny/.local/share/lutris/runners/wine/wine-osu/bin/../lib32/wine/i386-unix/ntdll.so)

linux newbie here, any help?
samuel2214

Peoy wrote:

MarshNello wrote:

final result:

https://youtu.be/Ve4qr3jmDbM

A little introduction:

osu! working fine on Linux has been a thing for many years now, especially thanks to ThePoon's patches and Franc[e]sco's guide (https://osu.ppy.sh/community/forums/topics/367783), which are probably the best methods even now. However, in my case both ended up in a broken installation, so I kept searching for ways to install osu! until I actually managed to run it perfectly thanks to some workarounds. It's a pretty easy guide, written especially for beginners (just like me xd), so if you want to install osu! on your Linux distro, just keep reading e.e

PREREQUISITES:
install the following: git, build-essential, dialog, curl.

- sudo apt install git
- sudo apt install build-essential
- sudo apt install dialog
- sudo apt install curl

install wine (the script will do it itself but it's better to have it):
https://wiki.winehq.org/Download

also make sure you installed proprietary drivers for your gpu if you need to
guide for it: https://itsfoss.com/install-additional-drivers-ubuntu/

GUIDE:

to set up our osu!, we'll use osu-install script from yurisuki (credits to him):
https://gitlab.com/yurisuki/osu-install