forum

[Proposal] Make metadata source rules clearer

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
roufou
I'm opening a thread due to a bit of a concern I have and to express my opinion on a subject regarding the source field of maps.

I'm not good at writing rules so I would prefer it if someone did it for me so perhaps I could add it to the OP? I thought it'd be fine to just start the discussion without coming with a clear rule right away.

Basically I don't think any map has been ranked with this but it will probably become an upcoming concern, as the rules aren't entirely clear about what to do in this case. The problem I have is that it doesn't really mention what source to pick if the song has multiple sources. I noticed a recent featured artist map which I think is going for rank having "osu!" as the source of the map, however in my opinion this would be incorrect. The song is from BMS initially and was not made specifically for osu! or submitted to osu! specifically. I think personally it'd make sense to chose the first source of the song, or maybe specifying that which source you chose is up to the mapper as long as other sources are added to the tags.

I think that should be all I have to say on the issue, all I'd really like is the rule to be more clear on what you do... Though personally I find it quite odd to use osu! as a source for a song that wasn't initially submitted for osu!.
Nao Tomori
well the song is licensed for use in osu! so putting it as source isn't explicitly wrong. i do agree that putting other game appearances in tags would be good
Aiseca
Yeah, this might be an impending pain in the future.

Although using Osu! as a source on those songs that were made by the featured artists might be a timesaver in terms of looking for some solid looking source, the songs (especially the well known ones on other rhythm games or media), putting Osu! alone as source might be off putting when it terms to where it really is known (on other medium besides it).