forum

Beatmapping - timing: by the number of beats

posted
Total Posts
This is a feature request. Feature requests can be voted up by supporters.
Current Priority: +0
Topic Starter
elie520
Edit: Start of the real conversation : https://osu.ppy.sh/forum/t/654396&start=18

Hello,

I'm totally new to beatmapping, so I hope the feature I ask doesn't already exist or I'll look like a fool (but i'll learn something :D)
Picture a map with a lot of tempo changes. For me, the most efficient way to time it would be likewise :
1) try to very precisely mark the time of some important notes (at the beginnning of a time changge, or every 16 beat, etc...),
2) count the number of beat between each marked note
3) deduce the BPM in each section.

That's what I'm doing, and it's necessary in my opinion as soon as the song is played by humans not remaining exactly precise when playing. In 10 seconds, they can vary the bpm from 155 to 155.8. It's quite noticeable when you try to time perfectly a song.
But doing so implies that for every marked note, you have to deduce the bpm (by applying 60*(number of beats)/(time between the end and start note of section)), and it's quite painful, while it could be automatic, and only requires a new field "number of beats before next section" (maybe with a check box to indicate to osu! that it's the parameter that must remain fix?)
Furthermore, after a try, if you feel that you misplaced a note by maybe 10 or 5ms, then you have to compute again the bpm of the section before and after this note. An automatic BPM based on the number of notes would be instantly corrected, and it'd be WAY faster/easier to time a song.

So... what do you think ?

Thanks for your interest, I hope I'm understandable :s
Kondou-Shinichi
what feature did you actually want

for me timing is basically:
1. find the correct bpm
2. correct offset
3. you’re done