forum

Pegboard Nerds - Swamp Thing

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
WIND3X
This beatmap was submitted using in-game submission on Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 3:27:42 PM

Artist: Pegboard Nerds
Title: Swamp Thing
Tags: Pegboard, Nerds, Swamp, Thing, EDM, Dubstep, Monstercat
BPM: 135
Filesize: 4368kb
Play Time: 01:49
Difficulties Available:
  1. Hard (3.11 stars, 218 notes)
  2. Insane (4.22 stars, 859 notes)
  3. Normal (1.89 stars, 106 notes)
Download: Pegboard Nerds - Swamp Thing
Information: Scores/Beatmap Listing
---------------
Update: I am revisiting this map now that I have time to work on it, please let me know if there is anything that needs changing!

I chose to map this song, because it is one of my personal favorite songs. However, when I tried to find a good beatmap for it, atleast at the time, there were none. So, I decided to make one, and have discovered that I very much enjoy mapping!

This is my first try at mapping, so please let me know if anything is incomplete/needs to be changed!

Edit: I have re-uploaded this map quite a few times due to watching videos on mapping, asking friends what they thought about it, and adjusting it accordingly (It's my first map, so I prematurely uploaded it as complete). Since it has been completed, I have changed the combos around a bit, and renamed the Insane difficulty to "Blaze It (Insane)," because it was 4.20 stars XD.
deantuesday
I only played the 4.2 star difficulty.

First thoughts after listening and playing a couple times:
1) the stream at 50 seconds falls off the beat awkwardly when the music gets faster than the 1/4 beat allows you to map. Could go into 1/8 time to create a slider that keeps up with the beat and doesn't add difficulty to the map.

2) A couple places towards the beginning of the map felt a little empty. [18 - 40] a couple big bass notes in between your circles could be hits.

3) Just in general the back half of the song seems much better than the front half to me.