forum

[resolved] [assigned] [confirmed] Undo states store indefinitely

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
kisata
(Apologies for the thread title, not sure what else to name it)

For the past month or two (maybe even three), there's been something not right with the editor. The longer you map the more sluggish the editor/game gets. Having more objects/green lines/etc seems to make the problem even worse, and allows you to map only for short periods of time before the game becomes unresponsive again.

I'm no expert in programming/computers, but it appears to be some sort of problem in memory management. Adding any sort of object increases the memory usage by the editor, however, deleting those same objects does not release the memory back to the system. Backing out of the editor doesn't fix the problem either, the memory usage just progressively increases as you're in the editor and mapping longer. Eventually, around ~1 GB of memory usage osu! becomes really sluggish and around 1.2 - 1.5 GB it simply freezes altogether and the process has to be killed.

I've had several other people with the same problem, so I don't think it's just me. I only did a quick check of the Technical Support forum and didn't seem to find any sort of thread on this, so apologies if there already is one.

osu! version: 20140814.1 (latest)
GoldenWolf
Hello I'll drop these here

It literally takes only 15-20 minutes of mapping to go there, and either osu! crash either I drop to 1 fps and have to kill the processus.
It also happens when normally playing, but takes a lot more time to go this high.
RLC
map
things are fine
map some more
things are fine
map some more
things are fine
map some more
suddenly, there starts to be massive stuttering / delay in the editor
at this point, if i don't restart osu!, the whole thing just locks up completely after a bit longer
Mismagius
yep, editor keeps taking 1.2GB+ RAM after 1 hour of mapping or so
drum drum