forum

Why you aren't improving at osu! "HOW DO I GET BETTER?!?!"

posted
Total Posts
show more
YoshiChen
Thanks to everyone for their suggestions and I hope I can improve as I am pretty motivated to do so. 8-)
Semaphia

Nactra wrote:

SubbieLOL wrote:

Cheers for the informative post :) The part about seeing patterns as one continuous shape is one I'll definitely take to heart, as there's a certain map I played an ungodly amount of times without ever constantly nailing a certain part of it.

I'm actually quite happy with my progress overall, but I've a question in regards to improvement that I'm yet to see answered (my Google skills are trash), so I thought this would be a good place to ask.

When I started playing 6/7 months ago, I'd just not start a new map until I FC'd the one I was currently progressing (unless it was obviously beyond my skill set). I came back a few weeks back, and picked up right where I left off - With that same mentality. Ended up finding a song and playing it over 300 times without getting the FC before deciding this just wasn't what I wanted to do.

So I got the supporter, went on osu! Direct, and downloaded lots of stuff that seemed interesting to me (VGM, JPOP, ambient/electronic stuff). But now it's still the same... Do I accept a non FC clear of a map I'm pretty sure I can get through, mix it up a bit & broaden my experience, or do I go all out until I can, to the best of my abilities, "conquer the map"?

TL/DR: in terms of progression & all other things being equal, do I go hard for achievable FC's until I get them, or mix it up & come back to them with broader game knowledge & experience?

Waiting for FC isn't optimal. The easiest way to FC a map is to go play something much harder and come back to it once you can pass it.

imo the best possible course is:
-identify your FC limit
- identify your passing limit

play slightly above your FC limit to improve performance
play slightly above your passing limit to keep learning harder