forum

Questions about Taiko

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Realmas
Hello there.

First, if I shouldn't have created a thread for that, sorry.
So I'm a noob at Taiko, but I would like to start playing it to at least have a pretty decent level. So I have a few questions :

• What should I know about mods in Taiko ? Should I stick with nomod, or playing HR/DT early isn't a problem ? (EZ ?)
• Are converts good for practice ? And same for Taiko only diffs ? I heard that converts in Taiko are overweighted, is it true ?
• Should I try to fully alternate since I'm still a beginner ?
• Is retrying basics patterns useful to learn basics, or is it better to simply play a bit of everything to get used to them ?
• Is passing maps rewarding in Taiko ?

Thanks in advance ! ^~^

EDIT : And are the controls importants ? Like I play with kddk on sd45, does that change anything ?
Edgar_Figaro
Hello Realmas and glad to see people taking an interest in playing Taiko :D

In regards to your questions just to give some bullet point answers

1. I'd say you should stick with nomod until you can play 5*+ maps. Although if you want to experiment with mods it's not a bad thing, but nomod should be the bread and butter of what you play till you know most the Taiko patterns well.

2. Converts in Taiko are usually pretty bad for improving in Taiko as they don't really teach patterning. Although easy auto-converts can be useful for learning drumrolls. Taiko specific are better for improvement

3. If you want to full alternate play that way, if you want to single tap and full alternate for streams you can do that as well. Many pro Taiko players who play either way. It's better to learn one way and stick with it. Trying to re teach your hands down the road will just be a long painful experience.

4. It's fine to either retry maps to learn a specific patterns you struggle with or play a bunch of maps to learn a variety of patterns. Really is up to you how you want to learn.