forum

[Archived] Osu Studders / Lags throughout playing songs

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
Runes
Problem Details:
Only while playing a song does my osu lag. Listening to it in the menu never lags. It happens at random times and on random songs. It also happens online or offline. The lag is short but just long enough to screw up notes. The lag happens on almost every song and it seems to also happen in Auto mode. I also notice that when it lags my FPS drops dramatically for the duration. Having the FPS cap set to 120, 240 or unlimited doesn't seem to help and switching between OpenGL and DirectX doesn't either. I've been playing for around 2 years and this problem only started happening a few months ago. Also i tried loading osu with only a few beatmaps but nothing changed. Also with a little testing it seems to happen more on songs with videos.

Video or screenshot showing the problem:

osu! version: 20141122 (latest)
VeilStar
Check your CPU & GPU loads and temperatures while you're playing? (Monitor them with the Task Manager & MSI Afterburner.)

Either there's a background process that suddenly takes up a big chunk of the processing power available,
causing osu! to get framedrops.

In this case turn off programs that could cause that and set the priority of the osu.exe process (in the task manager) to high.

Or perhaps it's thermal throttling.
(Above a certain temperature your hardware will underclock itself to preserve its lifetime and not overheat).

In this case clean the dust out of your PC.

Also, for good measure, update your graphics drivers & sound drivers.

If all of that still doesn't resolve it then please provide a benchmarking run with fraps
and screenshots of your hardware temperature and usage levels.
Topic Starter
Runes
Highest Temps i pull while playing osu: http://puu.sh/dseYn/0b4935c5f7.png

Benchmark: 2014-12-12 19:17:24 - osu!
Frames: 10518 - Time: 88078ms - Avg: 119.417 - Min: 97 - Max: 125